Product Review: SR Bars

Aaaand finally, product review three of three! I even had a guest review for these bars. First of all, special thanks to Esther from SR Bars for filling out my form and letting me review these bars. I’m happy I could help you guys out. Second, a huge thank you goes out to my man Owen for helping me review these bars. Owen is the son of one of my Crossfit buddies. The little man just switched to strict Paleo because of health reasons so I figured I would get him in on the Paleo fun. So let’s get to it!

SR Bars are the new kids on the Paleo protein bar block. They are newly formed and based in Virginia Beach. SR Bars came about in the search for a high protein Paleo bar. When you’re eating like a caveman and lifting small cars, a bar with 9 – 11 grams of protein just ain’t cuttin’ it. Quoting straight from SR Bars, “…we set out to make a bar that was all of the above: a good source of protein, not bogged down with artificial ingredients and sweeteners, but still delicious to eat. After many, many hours in the kitchen and not-quite-right (and some¬†really¬†not right) versions, SR Bars was born.”

For being a newly formed company, I am impressed that SR Bars are available in four flavors: Coconut Almond, Mint Chocolate Chip, Mocha Chip and Walnut Apple Pie. Here’s the fantastic part about these bars: they contain 20-21 grams of Protein. Holy hell, that’s a lot of protein! It’ll make you grow big and strong just like the T-Rex on the package! I took the Coconut Almond, Mocha Chip and Walnut Apple Pie to the face and let Owen give the Mint Chocolate Chip a shot.

I’ll give Owen’s review first. He LOVED the Mint Chocolate Chip. He told me (via a FB message from his mom) that sometimes when something says it’s mint chocolate chip it might not taste like it. The SR Bar really tasted like mint chocolate chip. He also mentioned that he liked the texture and the fact that it did not have additional nuts crumbled on the top. THE DUDE IS EIGHT YEARS OLD AND IS GIVING FOOD REVIEWS LIKE ALTON BROWN!!!!!!! Again, a huge shout-out to Owen for giving this review. You might be getting some more Paleo products to review my friend. I’m bummed we didn’t get any photos of him scarfing this bar down; maybe next time :)

Image

Told you. Swolasaurus Rex right on the package.

Next up is my review of the three remaining flavors. They all tasted awesome. If I had to pick a favorite, I’d go with the Mocha Chip. Love me some coffee and chocolate. I agree with Owen on the texture aspect; the bars have really good texture. And they really do taste like what the flavor is. They keep you filled up and would probably be fantastic with some almond milk (the bar got stuck to the back of my teeth but that may have been due to the fact I was shoveling it in like someone was going to take it away from me). The Walnut Apple Pie had a nice flavor of nutmeg in it which reminded me of legit apple pie. It smelled awesome too. Coconut Almond had a nice balance of coconut and almond. If anything, maybe add a little bit more coconut? That’s just my two cents Esther.

Price-wise, these are right in line with similar products on the market. You can order a sample pack (four bars) for about $12. Individual bars are $2.99 and you can order as many as you’d like. You can even order t-shirts with the Swolasaurus Rex on the front (that’s the name of the jacked TRex on the packaging). I mean, you’re eating like a caveman; you need a t-shirt with a dinosaur on it.

So head over to SRBars.com and order some of these delicious high protein, Paleo bars! They are definitely WODPrincess Approved!

WOD On!

WODPrincess

Posted on September 11, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

#PaleoThugLife

Recipes and rants in R-rated language

Elisabeth Akinwale

Athletics, Motherhood and Other SuperFantastic Subjects

Urban Paleo Chef

making everyday food ENJOYABLE and SATISFYING

Real Paleo Food

Real Food for Real People

Katie Does Crossfit

From wellness to fitness

Vette City CrossFit

CrossFit Gym in Bowling Green, KY at 5358 Scottsville Rd, to the RIGHT of the Post Office

That's What She Said

Hot flashes, Hiking, Crossfit & Cats!

Marcos Ramos

CrossFit Journey

* StarFit *

Star Nutrition & Fitness

holly go-paleo

one lady's path to paleo

HuggieBeirLife

In search of realizing my best self through fitness, philosophy and love. The definition of a real huggiebeir is hard to define. Defining something is necesserily limiting and capturing. However, there a a few fundamental values that form the foundation of a huggiebeir. It's an individual that is warm and loves humans, is physical. It's also A protector and aspires to be his best self through fitness, health, fun and love.

Curious Cavemanda

Paleo. Local. Seasonal. Fun.

Reilly Kilbride

Average to Elite. My Crossfit Journey. Day to Day. Be Better Today.

Praise&Paleo

My adventures through faith, food, and fitness...paleo style

Lisa Forhammar

Laugh, love, movement and yoga are my life

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

